Songs of Innocence, U2's new studio album, is here

10-09-2014 @ 08:29

The new U2 album is set for worldwide release on October 13th, but september 9th Apple have given it to half a billion iTunes Store customers. (Not got an iTunes account ? Create one here and the album will soon show up in your library.)

Recorded in Dublin, London, New York and Los Angeles, Songs of Innocence is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.

Bono has written to fans, introducing the new songs: 'Remember us? Pleased to announce myself, Edge, Adam and Larry have finally given birth to our new baby... "Songs of Innocence"...It's been a while. We wanted to get it right for you/us. We just finished it last week and thanks to Apple and iTunes it's with you today...'

The physical release next month is accompanied by a 24-page booklet. A deluxe, gatefold double album, contains an acoustic session of songs from the album and four additional tracks: Lucifer's Hands, The Crystal Ballroom, The Troubles (Alternative version) and Sleep Like a Baby Tonight (Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad Blake). The album will also be available as a gatefold, double white-vinyl LP with an exclusive remix of "The Crystal Ballroom".